Shape the future of nonprofit news: 3 INN Board seats up for June election

INN has three great opportunities for leaders of nonprofit news organizations who want to build the future of our network and this emerging news media space. On June 22, 2017, INN will hold elections for three member directors representing the INN membership on the board of directors.

INN elected directors work with the CEO to guide the future of the organization, ensure it is on mission, runs well and addresses member needs. Directors often take a larger leadership role in journalism as board members of INN, representing the growing U.S. network of nonprofit newsrooms and the value they have in our communities and Democratic culture.

Under the bylaws, the board is composed of up to six public members elected by the board and six executive directors elected from the member organizations, known as the membership council.

Three of the six member seats are up for election. The seats currently are held by Laura Frank of Rocky Mountain PBS, Anne Galloway of VTDigger and Trevor Aaronson of the Florida Center for Investigative Reporting. At least one of the seats will be uncontested by an incumbent. The top three vote-getters will be selected and serve two-year terms from June 2017 to June 2019.

Those wishing to run for a seat on the board must be executive directors of member organizations in good standing and actively publishing. Anyone interested in running for the board must fill out this form by midnight PT on May 31.

INN will circulate all candidates names and statements via newsletter and the member listserv by June 1. Candidates also will be given the opportunity to make video statements and present at INN Days in Phoenix.

Voting will take place via online form starting June 1 and through the end of INN Day at the IRE conference in Phoenix (4 p.m. Mountain time, June 22). Executive directors of full member organizations or their proxies are allowed to vote. Provisional members do not vote in the board elections.

Questions? Reach Sue Cross at or elected board member Steve Beatty,, or take a spin through the INN Board of Directors job description and our bylaws.