INN Announces Board Election Results

The Institute for Nonprofit News announced the election of two members to the board at its annual meeting Thursday.

Laura Frank, president and general manager of news for Rocky Mountain PBS in Colorado, was re-elected to her position on the board. INN also welcomed Trevor Aaronson, executive director of the Florida Center for Investigative Reporting. Aaronson received 51 votes and Frank received 50 votes.

Josh Wilson, founder of, also ran for the board and received 19 votes.

Frank started I-News in 2009, after the closure of Denver's oldest newspaper, The Rocky Mountain News, where she was an investigative reporter. She grew I-News from one person, to five while diversifying its revenue streams and expanding its distribution and impact.

Aaronson is executive director of the Florida Center for Investigative Reporting, which he co-founded in 2010. He is a 2015 TED Fellow, and also contributes national security reporting to First Look Media’s The Intercept.

Veteran investigative journalist Charles “Chuck” Lewis stepped down from his seat on the board this week. Lewis was a co-founder of INN and is executive director of the Investigative Reporting Workshop at the American University School of Communication and served as board treasurer.

Under INN’s bylaws, its board is composed of up to six public members, INN's CEO, and four executive directors elected from the member organizations, known as the membership council.

Being a board member requires one in-person meeting, several conference calls throughout the year, and some duties on committees or task forces. All board members are expected to coordinate with and assist management in fundraising and representing the interests of INN to the membership and interested outside parties.

See the full list of INN's Board of Directors here.