Missouri’s Mark Horvit named INN director; three board member representatives re-elected

LOS ANGELES, July 17 — Investigative journalist Mark Horvit is joining the board of directors of the Institute for Nonprofit News, along with three member representatives elected to the board.

Horvit is an associate professor at the University of Missouri School of Journalism with deep experience in investigative and nonprofit journalism. He directs Missouri’s State Government Reporting Program, where he is focused on creating a new model for statehouse coverage. He previously served as executive director of Investigative Reporters and Editors and guided IRE through significant expansion.

Three member representatives were re-elected at INN’s annual meeting in Houston on Thursday: Laura Frank, vice president of journalism at Rocky Mountain PBS; Anne Galloway, executive director of VTDigger; and Sheila Krumholz, executive director of the Center for Responsive Politics. The three will serve two-year terms through June 2021.

Brant Houston, an INN founder who served 10 years as a board member, was named an emeritus director.

The Institute for Nonprofit News (INN) is a network of more than 200 nonprofit newsrooms, building the sources of trusted news coverage in thousands of communities across North America.

Horvit fills one of six appointed or “public” seats on the INN board of directors. INN members elect member representatives to the other six.

INN members were eligible to vote for three of the eight candidates with the top three being elected to the board. Also running were: Julie Drizin of Current, Lucas Grindley of Next City, Daniel Heimpel of The Chronicle for Social Change, Trip Jennings of New Mexico In Depth and Regina Starr Ridley of Bay Nature.

Other members of the INN board are: appointed members Neal Shapiro, president and chief executive officer of New York public media provider WNET; Bruce Theriault, former senior vice president of journalism at the Corporation for Public Broadcasting; and Hsiu Mei Wong, management group member at PA Consulting Group. Elected members are Marcia Parker, publisher and chief operating officer of CALmatters who moves to board secretary; Norberto Santana Jr., publisher of Voice of OC; and Nancy West, executive director of New Hampshire Center for Public Interest Journalism.

More information about the full INN board can be found here.

Mark Horvit
Associate Professor, University of Missouri School of Journalism
Former Executive Director of Investigative Reporters and Editors, National Institute for Computer-Assisted Reporting

Mark Horvit is an associate professor at the University of Missouri School of Journalism, where he teaches investigative reporting and is director of the State Government Reporting Program. He previously served as executive director of Investigative Reporters and Editors and the National Institute for Computer-Assisted Reporting, where he conducted training in investigative reporting and data journalism throughout the world. Horvit worked as a reporter and editor for 20 years before joining IRE. He serves on the boards of the National Freedom of Information Coalition and the Midwest Center for Investigative Reporting.

Laura Frank
Vice President of Journalism, Rocky Mountain PBS


Laura Frank is VP of Journalism at Rocky Mountain PBS in Denver, where she leads a duPont-winning investigative team. She founded I-News, the investigative news nonprofit that merged with Rocky Mountain Public Media in 2013, the first such merger in the nation. She was a founding member of the Institute for Nonprofit News (inn.org) and now serves as its board chair.

Anne Galloway
Executive Director, VTDigger

Anne Galloway is the founder and editor of VTDigger and the executive director of the Vermont Journalism Trust. Galloway founded VTDigger in 2009 after she was laid off from her position as Sunday editor of the Rutland Herald and Times Argus. VTDigger has grown from a $16,000 a year nonprofit with no employees to a $1.7 million nonprofit daily news operation with a staff of 23. In 2017, Galloway was a finalist for the Ancil Payne Award for Ethics, the Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award and the Investigative Reporters and Editors FOIA Award for her investigation into allegations of foreign investor fraud at Jay Peak Resort.

Sheila Krumholz
Executive Director, The Center for Responsive Politics


As executive director of the Center for Responsive Politics, Sheila Krumholz is the nonpartisan watchdog group’s chief administrator and spokesperson, appearing regularly in news stories around the country as a money-in-politics analyst. She is cited frequently in prominent national news outlets and in documentaries about money in politics, including the 2019 Oscar-nominated movie, Dark Money.

About INN:

The Institute for Nonprofit News is a growing national network of more than 200 nonprofit news organizations dedicated to providing investigative and public service reporting. INN was founded in 2009 to foster a new collective of newsrooms serving the public interest. Today it functions as an innovation network, helping members develop new ways to support journalism and engage communities, providing business, technology and leadership support and a framework for collaboration. INN’s work helps newsrooms bring investigative and civic news to more people, hold the powerful accountable and strengthen democracy.


For more information, contact Sue Cross, Executive Director and CEO of the Institute for Nonprofit News, at sue@inn.org.